Workshop on Software Architectures for Dependable Systems

Organizers' Biographies

Rogério de Lemos (BEng, MEng, PhD) is a Lecturer in Computing Science in the University of Kent at Canterbury. Before joining the Computing Laboratory at the University of Kent he was a Senior Research Associate at the Centre for Software Reliability (CSR) in the University of Newcastle upon Tyne. He has participated in several conference programme committees, including HASE2001, HASE2002, EDCC-4, ISADS2003 and FMRTFT2002. He was the co-organizer in 2001 of the Workshop on Engineering e-Business Systems at the University of Kent at Canterbury (UK), and the ICSE2002 Workshop on Architecting Dependable Systems (WADS2002). He is the PC co-chair of the forthcoming Latin American Conference on Dependable Computing 2003 (LADC2003). He is in the editorial board of the Journal of Hybrid Systems. He has over 40 scientific publications in international journals and conferences. He is a member of IEEE.

Cristina Gacek is a Lecturer at the School of Computing Science of the University of Newcastle upon Tyne. She has previously worked in DARPA, industrial and European research projects, and is currently working on a very large multi-year interdisciplinary project addressing the dependability of computer based systems (DIRC). She received a Ph.D. in Computer Science from the University of Southern California (USC - USA), where she worked as a research assistant. Dr. Cristina Gacek was the leader of the Software Architectures group at the Fraunhofer Institute for Experimental Software Engineering (IESE), and worked both for TRW (USA) and IBM Brasil. She has participated in several conference program committees such as GCSE'02, ICECCS and SPLC2, and was the program committee chair for ICSR-7. She has co-organized many workshops, including the ICSE 2002 Workshop on Architecting Dependable Systems (WADS 2002). She is an IEEE and ACM member and has several scientific publications.

Alexander Romanovsky is a Senior Research Associate with the School of Computing Science, University of Newcastle upon Tyne. He received a PhD degree in Computer Science from St. Petersburg State Technical University. During the last years he was involved in a number of ESPRIT and EPSRC projects on various aspects of dependability and now he is working on the Dependable Systems of Systems EC IST RTD Project. He was a Guest Editor of a special issue of IEEE TSE on current research directions and new paradigms in exception handling and a co-organiser of several workshops including: workshop on Exception Handling in Object-Oriented Systems at ECOOP'2000, workshop on Dependable On-line Upgrading of Distributed Systems at COMPSAC'2002 and ICSE 2002 workshop on Architecting Dependable Systems. He has served and is serving now as a PC member and as an Advisory Committee member in a number of conferences and symposiums (including ISORC'2002, ICSR-7, WORDS 2003, ISORC 2003, AdaEurope 2003). He has co-authored more than 130 scientific papers and co-edited two books.